joannebest











{December 27, 2014}   Writing Again

writing3

Well that didn’t take very long.
Yesterday I swore up and down and all around that I would write.
I even tried to force myself to write by announcing it on facebook (which, by the way, I kinda hate but that’s a post for another day-oh!!!! I just admitted there will be another day of writing! Perhaps I am not doomed after all!), ummm, as I was saying, I figured if I made a grand announcement to my friends and family I’d be forced to write, else I may be banished to the Forest Of Lying Liars Who Lie, Unintentionally Or Not.

I unintentionally lied.
Because I didn’t write. {imagines finger-pointing and ridicule as I’m led in shackles toward the center of a crowd full of mask-clad…uh, wait, that’s another ‘nother story, with a different rating}

See, I lived inside my own head for so long, writing and writing yet never putting my fingers to the keyboard so now I have to retrain my brain and flex my fingers and just do it.
I picked a hell of a time to try and start writing again.
Everyone is home, our new Siamese kitten has decided that he wants to be a writer only he want to use my computer. Did I mention he only wants to write when I’m using my computer?
Plus there’s all this Merry Christmas/Happy New Year stuff and somewhere along the line, in my senseless self-imposed exile from writing, I forgot how to multitask.

I’m not worried {nope, not me, no worry here, not a bit}.
I just need some practice.
Please be gentle, I’ll be back to me in the flick of a Djinn’s finger.
djinn

Take ten minutes, morning or night and write. Don’t worry about what you’re writing, just write. Make it a letter, make it a diary, make it a project (short story or whatever), just make it a habit. Instead of using the keyboard, use a notebook and a pen. The important part here is to put ink on paper and do it as a habit. Do that for as long as it takes to make it a habit — ten minutes at least before you go to sleep or just after you wake up then make it a longer habit… make it twenty minutes. Once you get into the habit of writing… and it doesn’t matter what you’re writing, then writing will be what you do and not something you have to make yourself do. It’s why I have a blog, I have the need and that habit of writing and the blog is my outlet.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
