joannebest











{June 9, 2014}   Not Me

angels
i’m not that devil on your shoulder
masquerading as an angel,
whispering in your ear
intent on pulling you away from your self,
no, that’s not me,
i’m not that siren attempting to lure you to a slow painful death
weaving a melody leading you to destruction and regret,
on a quest to steal your soul for all eternity,
no, that’s not me,
i’m not that poisonous voice planting those misleading thoughts
in an effort to push you down till you drown,
insane clatter spinning you in circles till you can’t tell which is heaven and which is hell,
slithering through your midnight hauntings
and echoing through your day,
no, that’s not me,
buzzing in your ear
insinuating you’re tarnished,
stinging you helter-skelter, trying to smother your glow
no, that’s not me,
i’m the one with the naïve trust, full of faith,
i’m the one waiting, quietly, in the corner,
believing in my forever
angels3

JMC813 says:

Really, really good Joanne. I loved this. The first few lines drew me in immediately as the tagline for my blog and writing alter ego is “My imagination is the Devil on my shoulder” I hope you can step out from the corner and find your forever to be everything you wish it to be.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
