joannebest











{May 19, 2014}   Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta’s Writing Process~Blog Tour ~ Guest Post

writing woman

I’m just the instrument in this one, I’m honored to post Maryanne’s leg of the Writing Process Blog Tour, so with no further ado, take it away Maryanne!

1.What are you working on?

I am now tweaking a fictitious chick lit love story that takes place in the 1980s called “Love Cats.” I’m thrilled that Cynthia Santiglia will be copyediting. She’s worked as copy editor with an author I highly admire, Lisa Carver, so it’s an honor that Cynthia took an interest in working for me!

2.How does your work differ from others of it’s genre?

For my first book, “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” it’s different than other rock ‘n’ roll memoirs because there’s no downward spiral into drugs and depression. (That’s how one of my endorsers, columnist and author Judy McGuire, put it!)

“On the Guest List” is an upbeat book with many fun stories. I don’t knock anyone. It’s just my perspective on life as a music journalist and it’s written to inspire other writers to tell their stories too.

For “Love Cats” it’s different than other chick lit fiction, I think, because it has the lead male role taking on the sensitive part and the female lead screwing up the relationship only because of her insecurities. The characters are real to life and I’d like to believe the story is unpredictable with first-time experiences and a slight element of danger that most 20-somethings experience.

It’s a fun and fast moving love story with growth. The moral is that people do change!

3.Why do you write what you do?

For my memoir “On the Guest List” – I was always told that I should write a book. I had a bunch of great stories and wanted to share the best of them that I thought others could relate to. I saw a similar book that was very negative. The author put down most of the people she bragged about meeting; which, to me, was very sad. My book comes from a place of admiration for not only the musicians I wrote about but all the people I’ve experienced some of the adventures with, those who were my “plus one.”

For my upcoming fictitious “Love Cats” I simply write what I know and then let the imagination run wild. But to make it 1980s authentic I did a lot of Google searching, as my memory is great but not that great!

4.How does your writing process work?

I write from my heart, then go back and edit. With “On the Guest List” I went through years of paper diaries and online diaries to pick out the best stories. I also consulted many of the people I wrote about, asking for their blessing. There’s a brother and sister in the book that were a grand part of my youth. They never answered my emails about whether or not I could use their names, so I just gave them fake names – either way, it’s an honor, they were cool kids!

For “Love Cats,” since it’s fiction, I just grab a glass of wine and then go for it! Since the book is also from a male perspective, I asked a friend for advice on the dialogue – “Is this how a guy would say something?” My friend is a screen writer from Massachusetts, Todd Gordon, and he’ll definitely be thanked in the book.

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta

Author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist”
http://www.nextcenturystore.com/on-the-guest-list-adventures-of-a-music-journalist.html

Pear Tree Enterprises

http://www.peartreeenterprises.com/

HOURS: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Mon. to Fri.)

908-276-1514
writinggg

Maryanne says:

Reblogged this on Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta and commented:
Thanks again to Joanne Best for the interview!



Maryanne says:

Thanks again Joanne! It was super duper fun “chatting” with you! xo



Leave a Reply

et cetera
