joannebest











{February 28, 2014}   Slaying My Dragons

dragonthis
it’s funny in a way,
how you know me better than even i do,
my limits are nonexistent
when it comes to you,
you know my ins and outs
as if you studied them for countless lifetimes
when the truth is i just lay them out in front of you unaware,
there to peruse at your leisure,
it confuses me sometimes, that you know me at all when i don’t even know myself,
that whole ‘i’m-not-worthy’ thing howls through my brain
on a regular basis,
but something changed, somehow,
where a piñata overflowing with insecurities once hung between me and everything i dreamed of
you came along and smashed them all to bits, that devilish grin curving your mouth
as you shredded my fears,
murdered those sharp shiny leeches, clinging to me desperately
in an attempt to bleed me dry,
you just laughed while you slayed my dragons
refusing to take credit for reminding me how to smile’
after all, you told me, it was there all along
dragonslayer

Caitie says:

So beautiful. cc



❤ thank you doll ❤ xox



Another beautiful poem/prose piece Joanne.



thank you sweet Marissa, I tend to ramble somewhere between poetry and prose, I might have to come up with another name for it, like proetry or poes (can you tell I had no tea yet? lol) xox



Maryanne says:

Gorgeous poem! ❤ xo



if you can’t beat ’em, find someone else to slay them 😀 xox



Leave a Reply

et cetera
