joannebest











{January 10, 2014}   Fiction Relay ~ Part 53

It’s my turn at bat for the Fiction Relay as we race toward the end. You know the drill, go here
http://thereclininggentleman.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/fiction-relay-summary/ for the summary of the story so far, go here
http://thereclininggentleman.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/fiction-relay-homepage/ for the homepage in case you missed anything there are links to each chapter. So with no further ado, allow me to present Part 53:

With one bright pulse of blue the uneasy alliance of seven shimmered into solid form in the back corner of the same Lowes parking lot Meagan had ported to before, when she ‘bumped’ into Jose.
They were lucky it was near closing time, the night was dark as pitch with only a few cars scattered throughout the parking lot.
All the lights in the lot had gone out when they appeared from the mountain cave, as if the teleport had drained the energy from them.
“Yay us, we’re here,” Blue huffed the obvious. “Now what?”
She was feeling impatient, feeling the need to do something instead of standing around clueless. In the middle of a Lowe’s parking lot, no less.
*Chill babe* Spence’s voice entered her mind, soothing her the way only he could. *We need to work together on this one, just trust me Blue, please?*
Blue giggled back at him silently, *Yeah I better keep it down, not like dog-face boy isn’t gonna attract any attention. I’ll just chill, that’ll work.*
She snickered out loud and Melissa shot her a look of annoyance. It took everything she had to keep from launching herself at Melissa and strangling her.
“Sammy,” Meaghan knew there was a lot to work out with her daughter, years to catch up on before she really earned the right to chastise the once little girl who now stood before her, a beautiful defiant young woman with a will of her own, but they all had to pull together if they had any chance of defeating Sanderson. Infighting wouldn’t do a thing toward that end.
Blue got the message but she wasn’t about to admit it out loud, she sent a mental hug to the Mother she loved, the Mother she’d needed for so very long and Meaghan smiled hard with relief.
“She’s right Meaghan,” Sam spoke up and Blue peered at him from the corner of her eye wondering if her so called Father was just trying to score points with her.
“What now? We’re out of the mountain and believe me, I’m not complaining about that, but how are we,” he waved his hand at the ragtag bunch of them, “going to get to Sanderson?”
“We’re not,” Meaghan said with conviction. “Sanderson’s going to come to us.”
Melissa rolled her eyes at her sister, tired of being the ‘Evil Twin’ yet still not comfortable being on the Good Guys team, she challenged Meaghan.
“Just like that? What makes you think Sanderson is going to come to us?” Her skeptical tone of voice had Blue up in her face before Melissa finished her sentence.
“Talk to my Mother in that tone of voice one more time and you’ll be begging me to kill you once I start pounding on you,” Blue sneered.
“Samantha, back off right now, we have no choice, we have to work together. When this is over you can take out all your anger on me, I know I deserve it but now is not the time. Understood?”
Blue froze at the sound of Sam’s voice, the man her Mother loved, the man who had abandoned her and her Mother, the man she was meant to call Father. She met his gaze, his eyes filled with love and pride, longing and regret, unwavering as she tried to keep up her tough stance. Her bottom lip began to tremble, her eyes threatening to spill over with tears as she felt the walls she’d built around her heart, at least when it came to him, start to crumble.
*Oh my sweet Samantha, I love you so much my daughter, I’ve loved you before I even knew you existed. I have so much to make up to you my little girl, please give me a chance.*
Sam’s thoughts penetrated Blue’s mind, sincerity dripping from each word he thought at her. Could it be possible to let this man, her own Father, into her heart?
“Understood.” Blue said as she backed away from Melissa. “But we still need a plan.” She mumbled the last few words, her mind confused with the growing affection she was beginning to feel toward her Father.
*That’s my girl* Spence sent a wave of love to Blue. *I’ve got your back babe, and so does everyone else. Trust me Blue, we need to remain a solid front if we want to beat that bastard at his own game.*
“Uh, guys,” Ephraim spoke up for the first time since they’d teleported out of the mountain. “I don’t know what we should do but this box,” he held his hand out for everyone to see, “I, uh, think it’s alive.”
The seven of them, including Raj in coyote form, gathered around Ephraim staring at the small box in his blood covered hand as it began to emit a glow.
The box was pumping, thumping as if it was a heart beating in his hand.
“What the fuck?” Blue was getting a bad feeling in her gut, Spencer glued to her side, his hand warm on the small of her back.
Coyote Raj began to whine as if he was in pain,
Sam, Meaghan, and Melissa were gathered around Ephraim, all eyes on the box pulsing in his hand.
Nobody noticed Jose stepping out of the shadows, a crazed smile on his face as he approached them silently.

Take it away KC! πŸ˜€
http://kyotzeta.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/finally-fiction-relay-50-hope-its-worth-the-wait/

KC says:

Squee! Love you, Twin! ( I forget, are you the Evil one, or is that me?) So awesome, pulling them even more together, and re-introducing a character no one expected, with Jose…so the awesome. And the box…you’ll see what you did, when the next chapter spills onto the scene. *eg* Unfortunately, that may take a teeny-tiny bit, as we’ve just discovered that my Arthritis has been basically untreated for several months (mistake in reading the scrip amount, only getting one-sixth the amount…>.<), so even the pain meds don't make my hands work except in small bursts. It's being fixed, but for at least a week, I may be a bit…slow. *hugs* Don't worry, like yours, this one will -definitely- be worth the wait. *G*



take as long as you need KC, i know it will be worth it!



It was all you my twin (I think we switch back and forth with the Evil/Good thing :D)
In the haze of holiday distraction, doing the band thing again after 2 years and a long bout of the fibro freeze , now with extra added pain , I stupidly missed your chapter and thought I was an idiot cause I once was lost but then I saw πŸ˜€
Lesson The First: Pay closer attention when in Fibro Fog Land.
Yikes does it all make sense now!!! πŸ˜€
Now I can go back and comment on the last 3 most awesome chapters chock full of goodness…so much love for everything β™₯

And feel better little butterfly, I’m right there with you , I’ve had hand tinglies a lot lately and it’s so frustrating … sending you my fingers to type with :

Can’t wait to see what your delightfully evil mind comes up with! πŸ™‚ β™₯β™₯β™₯



KC says:

Mua-ha-ha…ahem. Sorry, was that my outside voice? *eg*



I love the way in between the saving-the-world stuff and the gathering-the-troops-to-fight-the-forces-of-sanderson there is so much inter-character tension. they are still finding out how they relate to each other and how much trust there can be. Very well-written my dear, and i really liked the unexpected return of Jose. I wonder which side he will be on???



Whew! I was so freaked! It was shorter than
I preferred but if I didn’t stop there I’d still be writing πŸ˜€
I was more surprised than Megs and Blue when Sam spoke up in Blues favor lol…
I’m really really happy you like it, it’s your sandbox, I’m thrilled to be able to play in itβ™₯
So is it just we three? (Great Patti Smith song btw, We Three)
I’m getting giddier by the chapter πŸ˜€ β™₯β™₯β™₯



It’s a communal sandbox! And yes we are three now for the home stretch



(hears the bass line of Under Pressure)
πŸ˜€



lol
and with the mysterious Box now in play, i can hear the Jaws theme tooo



Oh nooooooo! That’s now stuck in my head! lol Oh wait a minute, is there a shark in the box???????? πŸ˜€



hmm a shark in the box… nice idea. As long as we don’t jump it πŸ™‚



No shark jumping allowed! No box jumping either but there may be some cup jumping and I don’t even know what that means πŸ˜€



Lol yep we have jumped the errr… cup!



[…] know I’m teasing you with the title, bestest Twin-o-mine, right? Β I apologize in advance for any what-the-hecks that have wiggled their way into the story, […]



KC says:

Done-da-done…DONE!! *giggles, hugs*



KC says:

http://kyotzeta.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/distraction-is-distracting-or-the-case-of-the-misnumbered-chapter-aka-50-2-p/

Whoops, forgot that part! *runs away*



β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯ plus more twinlet xox πŸ˜€



Leave a Reply

et cetera
