joannebest











{November 11, 2013}   Thank You Veterans

dad 4 7 1944My Dad, April 6, 1945
Today is Veterans Day here in the good old US of A. Don’t forget to thank a Vet if you see one, the old timers are dwindling, let them know that you are grateful for the sacrifices they made for love of Country.
dad on shipMy Dad sometime in 1944

johnny waltersMy cousin Johnny, home from Vietnam
There are no words I can come up with to describe what they went through, every single Veteran has their own story, some worse than others, some saw combat, some didn’t, regardless of what branch of the Military they belonged to, what war they were fighting, for the most part, each man and woman willingly enlisted in an effort to help keep us safe. May God bless all the Veterans and their families, past and present, for the sacrifices they made…and with the way the world is spinning these days, God (or whoever/whatever you believe in, if anything) bless us all.

You might like this poem about families and absence, β€œWhile He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB



Thanks, I’ll check it out for sure πŸ™‚



Andy says:

Great photos.



Thank you Andy, to be 100% honest, I was thinking of you when I was looking for photos, I know you like old pictures so I always think of you whenever I post personal photos… I found some REALLY old, old sepia toned photos of some great great great aunt and uncle but that’s a post for another day πŸ™‚ (if I don’t finish the chapter for the Fiction Relay I may end up just a memory lol)



Andy says:

I will look forward to them. My last post about Remembrance Sunday, which has just passed, I included a photograph of my Gt Grandparents, just before my gt grandfather left for WW1. I have others in reserve too πŸ™‚



Love those old pics so much πŸ™‚
Times were easier back then



Lest we forget, honey. Beautiful pics. xxx



Thank you my sweetest β™₯



Leave a Reply

et cetera
