joannebest











{October 22, 2013}   Sunshine Award

award sunshine

Thank you to my sweet ali who has so kindly nominated me for a Sunshine Award at a time I needed a heartfelt smile the most ๐Ÿ™‚
Now I’m learning that there are mixed feelings among various bloggers concerning awards, but me? Well as the Jan Brady of my family (aka middle child), and on a day my dear old Dad told me my recently departed dear Mom “never liked my writing” (in his defense, he winked at Marcia, I mean my older brother, and admitted he was busting my chops- it’s one of his favorite things to do) it was exactly what my shattered self needed.
I understand the rules, and will do my best to follow them to the letter.
http://alienorajt.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/sunshine-and-showers/comment-page-1/#comment-2475
So the rules of this award are the following:

1) Use the logo above in the post.
2) Link to whoever nominated you.
3) Write ten pieces of information about yourself.
4) Nominate ten fellow bloggers โ€œwho positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere.โ€
5) Leave a comment on the nomineesโ€™ blogs to tell them of the award

So sit yourself down, pour yourself your favorite libation and let me think of 10 things about myself you don’t already know:
1. In 7th grade I checked out a different Nancy Drew book every single day, I’d read the entire book that night, and check out another one the next day until I read the entire series. I also used to walk 2 miles to the Public Library and take out the maximum amount of books allowed (8 books) then walk home and devour those books like a bag of Snickers.

2.When I was 15 years old my gay friends snuck me into a bunch of men-only ‘Leather Bars’ in NYC (The Ramrod, The Anvil, Boots and Saddles and the ever favorite, The Toilet). I was tall, skinny and androgynous-looking (oh 102 pounds, I miss you so) and I wore a trench coat and a (very fashionable) hat pulled down low and while I was the only girl there I wasn’t the only one wearing makeup. Lets just say some of the things I saw that night gave an entire new meaning to the words ‘back room’, where sex was the sole purpose of those back rooms. Even though I was warned I still wanted the full tour and while I didn’t see much in the pitch black room the sound of sex was everywhere. It would be quite a few years before my virginal state changed, but that my friends, is a whole ‘nother post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

3.I never once cheated on a test and never once stole anything. Not even a measly piece of candy. I was too scared to try either.

4.I used to sing myself to sleep every night before I was able to talk, dance and sing for my relatives when I was 5 years old (“Hey Big Spender” was one of my favorites) but I was too shy to audition for the school musicals. Fast forward a bunch of years and I found myself lead singer of my own band writing my own songs with an occasional cover thrown in, one cover being “Hey Big Spender”.

5.In high school, when one of my gay friends was being bullied by a football player I got so angry I punched the football player in the stomach. He never bothered my gay friends again.

6.I’m an awesome cook with the ability to cook anything to perfection but I don’t like to eat.

7.I’m addicted to sweet hot milky tea and consume approximately 8 cups of tea a day (at least).

8.I’m a news junkie who can’t keep her mouth shut about politics at any family function and hate the fact that I can now say “told you so”, so I keep my mouth shut in silent glee.

9.I roll my own cigarettes (I’m not talking about those!) using a bag of tobacco, filtered tubes and a rolling machine which make the cigarettes look exactly like regular store-bought cigarettes except the price difference is crazy; it costs me approximately $10, yes I said ten dollars, for a carton’s worth of smokes.

10.I’ve had a girl-crush on Kate Moss for years; myย girl-crushes come and go but I’ll always have a girl-crush on Kate Moss forever.

I’d like to thank http://alienorajt.wordpress.com/ for nominating me.
As far as nominations go, I’ve noticed that everyone doesn’t like to play this part of the game but I understand it’s part of the thing so lets see what I can do:
http://themousessoapbox.wordpress.com/
http://primalnights.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/my-fire-the-forward-to-the-book-of-poems-i-wrote-for-catnip/
http://witlessdatingafterfifty.wordpress.com/
http://thepenelopejones.wordpress.com/
http://cozyblanketsnowflakerepetitioncompulsion.wordpress.com/ ๐Ÿ˜‰
http://thesanctuaryofmyheart.com/
http://cherrypickens.wordpress.com/

alienorajt says:

Fascinating information on you, Joanne! xxx



Thanks my sweet, there’s much more where that came from ๐Ÿ˜‰ xox



Just a Little Background Noise says:

Congrats ๐Ÿ™‚



Thank you! Smiles. ..



Just a Little Background Noise says:

You’re quite welcome ๐Ÿ˜€



CherryPickens says:

You are sunshine, Joanne. You’ve received an award that describes perfectly who you are inside, and what you express with your writing. And I don’t mean that yellow sunshiny bullshit. I mean warmth and good feelings; the prickle on my skin when I read what you’ve written; the light from within.

Thanks for shining on us all, Joanne. It’s a better place, because you are here.



Dear Ms JoanneBest
You are my very favorite blogger in the whole world. I love your blog and as an extension, you!
I am on the road and it will be a while before I get this done, but I will because (see first line above).

Primalnights



Leave a Reply

et cetera
