joannebest











{July 30, 2013}   Muse Abandonent ~ Series

musecat
AUTHORS NOTE: Muses are strange creatures {OWWW! Stop yanking my hair!), ahem, some muses can be strange creatures, they don’t even ask, they just do, as we mere mortals get our strings yanked. Lets see what my muse is doing to me, err, Catt now . Please to enjoy.
~
“Where are we?”
I keep my voice low. It’s so dark here I see nothing.
Wherever the hell “here” is.
“Hey, thanks for the save back there, I appreciate it and all, but, uh, where the hell are we?”
“Shush child!” Her whisper betrayed her lack of patience but what the fuck does she expect? One minute she’s saving me from some crazy creature who’d apparently just read 50 Shades of Gray, now we’re here.
Somewhere.
In the dark.
So dark I can’t see my muse who has my arm in her grip pulling me through, something.
The air is thick and cloying, heavy, misleading. Distant sounds of muffled screams and the crashing of glass rumble in the background and I feel sick.
Not I-drank-too-much sick, more like I’m-in-the-middle-of-a-real-life-horror-movie sick.
“C’mon, where are we,” I barely breathe the words, this place was freaking me out. “What’s going on and who the fuck was that crazy bitch with the torture routine, in my own house I might add!”
As usual, no reply.
“Say something,” I cringe at the whine in my voice but I’m petrified of the dark.
My hands feel around in an attempt to get some sense of where my muse took us but it feels like I’m moving in slow motion. I can’t even see my own hands in front of my face, a fact made painfully clear when I nearly poke my own eye out.
Have you ever whispered “Ouch”? It’s not as easy as it sounds. Nor as quiet.
What sounds like an evil chuckle floats by, full, deep, and throaty.
Nothing good ever seems to follow that distinct sound of her amusement, something bad accompanies that sound and it’s usually at my expense.
Those tiny little hairs on the back of my neck were all tingly, a sure sign she’s up to something again.
“Well?” I’m still waiting for some kind of explanation but, as usual, she does what she wants when she wants, no amount of chatter from me can make her answer me so I keep on putting one foot in front of the other until she comes to a dead stop and I walk right into her. Of course she is unmovable and I trip, landing on my ass. Hard.
“You never learn chica,” her voice has turned harsh. I swear she has more mood swings than even I do and that’s saying a lot.
“I told you,” she whispered urgent and angry, leaning down to my level rather than extending a helping hand,”I specifically told you to pay attention didn’t I?”
I am so not in the mood for her games right now.
“What the fuck did I do? All I wanted to do was to write, how the fuck did writing turn into a ride on the crazy train! You are supposed to-”
“I am supposed to do nothing little girlie, nothing. You know nothing, you are nothing, and you will get exactly nothing if you don’t stop trying to be a smartass and start paying fucking attention!”
I still can’t see her but I can feel her breath on my face as she spews her rant in my direction.
“I’m not trying to be a smartass, sometimes it just comes out that way,” I mumble under my breath. I’m actually kind of glad I can’t see her face right now, I’ve never heard her sound this pissed.
“However you managed to attract the attention of that She-Devil is a mystery to me, I’ve gone out of my way to keep you safe until it’s time and you repay me by calling on Her-”
“I didn’t call on anyone! I was trying to find you! You’re the one who keeps disappearing on me and talking in riddles and what the hell time are you even talking about? It’s like you exist just to torment me and….uh…” I shut up because oh shit, I can feel anger coming off her in waves.
The air around us is oppressive as if it’s closing in on us and I’m about to land in a world of shit, I just know it.
She’s too silent for too long, till finally, she speaks.
“You.” Her voice is low, menacing almost but there’s a hint of exasperation, like her favorite pet just clawed her new leather couch forcing her to teach them a lesson. And I mean a really expensive new leather couch.
“This is partly my own fault,” she begins, “if you tell anyone I said that I’ll kill you myself.” She growls the last bit.
She sighs heavily and I begin to see her face as her eyes start to glow, slowly getting brighter and brighter. They are green and ageless and pulling me in, holding me mesmerized.
She stalks me feline-like, her eyes laser focused on mine.
“I should have done this a long time ago chica, but you know how it is, places to go, people to destroy. Whatever you did to piss off that particular Marid was a big mistake missy, and don’t even.”
She cut me off before I could say a word.
“Yes I know, you didn’t call Her, blah blah blah, it doesn’t matter how, She found you once, She can find you again. And you have no idea what I’m talking about which is a whole other issue girlie, but first things first. You need to get gone and stay gone, at least for now, and don’t even think for a moment I’m going to forget this, you owe me big time. Shut up.”
I do indeed shut up, I figure, I’m either dreaming or I have malaria or something that’s gonna kill me so I may as well play along, she won’t listen to me anyway.
“You need to be taught a few lessons chica-bella, now is as good a time as any, long overdue actually.”
A green glow emanating from her eyes increases in intensity as her voice begins to fade.
I can’t see anything, just a greenish almost smoky haze as her voice grows fainter.
“Things to do chica, don’t worry, I’ll be back, you just sit tight in that bottle missy, and please child, for your own sake if not, and it dreads me to say this, for the sake of the entire world, please, at least try to pay attention.”
“Hey! Get back here!” I shout, near full panic mode.
“Oh and one more thing chica,” she giggles, “don’t go anywhere.”
Then she’s gone.
greenersmoke
to be continued…

i love the tension and the mystery in this chapter. good job!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
