joannebest











{July 18, 2013}   Symmetry ~ Lizzie & James Series

shadowkiss
AUTHORS NOTE:This is part of the James and Lizzie Vampire Story,in which I am slowly introducing some new characters who will become important to the story, but for now, just a little tease…
There was a perfect symmetry to them.
The way they unconsciously mirrored each other, gestures, phrases, even the way they laughed together seemed like a well-worn routine.
There was something so comfortable and at ease about the two of them, I wondered if they knew.

My band plays a lot at the local watering hole, it was a regular blue-collar shot and beer joint before James took it over and turned it into a place where original bands could play without having to jump on the Pay To Play treadmill like most clubs.
It was a rare thing, a place to play with a built in crowd who appreciated original music instead of a jukebox with eight legs cranking out cover songs. James was making money hand over fist and the local music scene kept thriving.
There’s a lot of observation time when your band is playing the last set of the night, especially when you’re not much of a drinker. I spent many a night in a dark corner with a notebook and a pen in case inspiration struck, but mostly I just watched.
I love people-watching.
I’d make up intricate backstories in my mind and as the night went on and people drank more, letting down their guard, the stories I’d write in my head got more and more interesting.
And my appetite grew to the point where I was afraid my tummy rumbles were louder than the bands.
We had a strict policy though, no feeding on the patrons.
Of course that was just another stupid rule James decided we needed to adhere to.
I knew it made sense, at least I pretended it made sense but my body told me otherwise. And for some reason I can’t understand, I want to break every damn rule James has.
My rebellious tendencies keep getting worse due to all the sex I’m not having but yet again, another James Rule, none of
the fun stuff till he thinks I’m ready to graduate from vampire 101.
The other night, when I asked him who died and made him the boss of me, he raised an eyebrow before he answered.
“Do I have to remind you Lizzie, that you died and made me the boss of you?”
It’s times like these when I wish James wasn’t already undead so I could kill him myself.

I still had a good hour to wait before my band was up so I headed outside to my usual smoking spot to burn some time.
You’d be surprised how much you can learn about people when you’re leaning against a brick wall having a smoke, my heightened sense of hearing didn’t hurt either.
In other words, I knew all the gossip that everyone thought was private but at least I’ve always been good at keeping my mouth shut.
They were outside too, the two I’d been watching, both of them leaning against the wall themselves but they didn’t see me there and like I said, you learn a lot just standing around inconspicuously.
I don’t know why I was so fascinated with these two. There was just something about the way they sparked off each other. They were married, only not to each other, and I knew that both of their marriages were shit.
Neither one of them ever said those words, at least not in my presence, there were just bits and pieces I picked up over time and began weaving them together .
There was just something about them that I couldn’t ignore. Maybe I read too much, maybe I have an overactive imagination or maybe I’m just plain nosy but I started making a movie up in my head starring the two of them.
Ok I admit it, I get bored waiting for my band to go on, in fact half the time I don’t even care if I play or not, I’m a reluctant rock star but that’s another story. This is about them, these two beautiful humans who seem to glow whenever they’re in each other’s orbit.

See, I’d pay attention to them, watch their body language.
I started noticing that when they were on-stage themselves, singing in their respective bands, there was a subtle familiarity to their lyrics, as if they were playing off each other. I’d seen both of their bands hundreds of times and since I write my own lyrics I listen hard to other band’s lyrics and there was a definite connection between these two.
Maybe it was just my over-active imagination looking for evidence to support my mental movie.
I had this whole George Harrison/Patti Boyd/Eric Clapton thing going on in my head.
One night recently somebody dropped a dollar in the jukebox and the unmistakable opening riff to Layla filled the room as they were standing directly in front of the sound booth where I was hanging out with James. They weren’t alone, they were laughing with a small group of friends.
But there was this one moment I caught, I saw their eyes meet lit with laughter the way friends tend to do, but there was something different in their eyes, an unmistakable change that told me my suspicions were right on target.
I could almost see the electricity flowing between them, they hum and glow whenever they’re in each other’s orbit.
I wonder if they finally figured out they’re in love with each other.
blackrose
to be continued…

Intriguing new characters, and as always, very well written. i loved the phrase “a jukebox with eight legs cranking out cover songs”, that’s so true of many bands.
And regards going outside for a smoke, i don’t smoke but i often like to go out to the smoking pen with my chimney friends, it’s definitely where the best gossip circulates.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
