joannebest











{July 9, 2013}   Sound Loops

sounds
when the sound begins to fade
the way it is now
everything is harsh and too bright
i get anxious
and find myself adding and subtracting
searching for an answer to an impossible mathematical equation
i ignore the reality and grab for the fantastical
because you showed me it existed
when you made me remember my name,
there’s a reminder i keep in my pocket
folded and worn from overuse
just a scribble on a piece of paper
an abstract rendition of my soul laid bare
captured in a moment
stolen for a lifetime
it’s weatherproof like me
conditioned to survive the passing seasons
holding tight to that connection
waiting patient for the sound to return
souundwaves

Leave a Reply

et cetera
