joannebest











{June 22, 2013}   Why I Didn’t Write Today (And Why I’m OK With It)

dad dancing
I didn’t expect my Dad to say yes when I asked him if he’d let me take him to the yearly carnival at St. Stans.
It was something my Mom and I did every single year forever, so this was one of those ‘firsts’.
I didn’t even plan to ask him, it just spilled out of my mouth and his ‘yes’ nearly stopped my heart in shock.

So this is why I didn’t write today, I took my Dad to the St Stans carnival and when he asked me if I’d mind stopping at the American Legion across the street, his favorite haunt, I didn’t expect ‘ok’ to slip out of my mouth, but it did and we did.
Today was as rare as the super full moon due tomorrow night and surprisingly, I think it’s going to be the new normal.
We both lost my Mom and I think we are both finally finding each other.
So yeah, I’m ok with not writing today*.
dad carnival
Dad walking back after the Mayor asks him how he wants his Italian Hot Dog.
dad dancing 2
Dad dancing to Frank Sinatra with one of the barmaids, not bad for 86 huh?

*I plan to make up for my lack of writing tomorrow. My muse says she’ll kick my ass if I don’t. Only she said it way cooler than I did. She’s gonna kick my ass again for that too. And she can get really creative.

Great to see your dad having such a wonderful time. You are excused for skipping a day’s writing πŸ™‚



Whew, I was worried I might need a note from a doctor or something πŸ˜€
but in retrospect, I kinda did write a wee bit, in this very post πŸ˜‰
oh and yes, dad had an awesome time, it really drove home that old clichΓ© ‘what a difference a day makes’ because it’s so true….now today i have to make up for it and finish reading this really awesome story that’s got me hooked πŸ˜‰



Cliches become cliches because theyre true! Hmmm i wonder what story you could be reading πŸ˜‰



Ah, yes, it’s a very very good read, I’ll let you know how it turns out, I have a feeling you’ll like it too πŸ˜‰



Andy says:

A nice, ‘happy’ post. I am pleased for you. Worth getting your arse kicked for.



thanks my friend, and you’re right, totally worth an arse-kicking (i’m such a wanna-be Brit,lol)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
