joannebest











{June 17, 2013}   Hands Off ~ Lizzie And James Series

biting cherry
I was tossing back a shot of Captain Morgan when James walked in.
A shiver raced through my body and I attributed it to the spicy rum sliding down my throat.
I’m sure it had nothing to do with his scent, which was presently tickling my nose.
I sneezed.
“Bless you.”
James slid the empty bar-stool beside me closer to the bar and leaned over, grabbing a bottle of beer as if he owned the place.
Oh yeah, that’s right, he did.
The club was empty right now, it was after hours and everything was shut down for the night.
It was just the two of us, a rarity these days and something my girl-parts were dying to take advantage of. Most of those vampire myths I’d heard before I became one were, for a large part, myths and nothing more, but my enhanced senses were going crazy at the nearness of James. He made me squirmy.
I turned toward him raising an eyebrow in his direction.
“What?” James brought the bottle to his mouth.
drinkingbeer
My eyes fixed on his throat as he swallowed his beer.
“Is it wrong that I want to sink my teeth deep into your neck?” I asked with feigned innocence.
He sputtered for half a second then recovered, sending me a dirty look in return.
I was still annoyed with him and his all-too-frequent disappearing acts. He’d turned my life upside down and this damn steady diet of blood was really making me cranky.
I missed food. Sure I could eat anything I wanted but nothing quelled my hunger except blood. Particularly if said blood belonged to James.
Food wasn’t the only thing I missed but James had recently issued a strict hands-off policy until I got this whole vampire-thing down.
And that was a huge bone of contention between us.
The only bone between us, I might add, and it was driving me insane. I don’t know what pissed me off more, the fact that he thought abstinence was gonna somehow make me a ‘better’ vampire or the fact that it didn’t appear to be bothering him at all.
Because it was bothering me a real fucking lot.
Damn, his scent was driving me crazy!
“You’re unfair and a tease,” I muttered knowing full well he’d hear me. “Pussy.”
James slammed the now-empty beer bottle on the bar and grabbed my barstool spinning me so fast I practically flew into his lap.
His hands grabbed my arms to steady me but his strong legs held me as captive as the stare he gave me.
“What is your problem Lizzie?” He spit the words out one by one, the fire in his eyes belying his tone of voice. “You know it has to be this way for now. It has to be. For now.”
We had been nit-picking each other to death lately, and we both knew it was his stupid no-sex rule driving us nuts.
He had this new stupid idea that sex would somehow get in the way of his self-appointed mentoring. Which makes absolutely zero sense to me and to make it even worse he refuses to tell me the whys.
All he tells me is, since he is my mentor, we have to try and keep our attraction on ice until I mastered Vampire 101. Some kind of malarkey about Rules and Blood Lines and some bullshit about how fucking each others brains out could possibly jeopardize some ancient power struggle family thing, none of which sank in because I wasn’t paying attention, I couldn’t take my eyes off of his fleshy bottom lip and the way his mouth moved when he said certain words.
“Lizzie? Are you even listening to me?”
His voice was a mix of exasperation, affection, and that ever-present husky growl.
In other words, he sounded like pure sex.
I let out a loud sigh. This sucked. I can’t see this hands-off policy lasting too long but apparently I had no choice.
Time to put on my big girl panties if I ever wanted James to rip them off again. Time to suck it up. Knock off the sulk and whine. Learn that poem and get this how-to stuff out of the way so we could get back to the fun bits again.
Later, when I looked back at this moment, I could only blame myself for everything that followed. If only I’d listened to that uneasy voice whispering in my ear that something was off, we could have avoided a lot of trouble.
Instead I resolved to get with the schooling so we could move on to the extracurricular activities.
Despite my best intentions, I still had a hard time tearing my eyes away from his mouth.
handonchest
TO BE CONTINUED

wonderful stuff as always. “The only bone between us, I might add, and it was driving me insane.” and “Time to put on my big girl panties if I ever wanted James to rip them off again.” were brilliant!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
