joannebest











{May 21, 2013}   No Evidence

sad angel
nothing
is enough to keep me warm lately
little pitchfork-demons dance ’round my head
keeping me off balance and unsure
and I’m freezing in the bowels of hell shaking like a leaf
it’s going to be ok is what you told me
and it sparked a flame for a moment
more memory than anything
leftover from before the world ended
back when summer sizzled
and icy winter glimmered in your eyes
enough to make me burn
now the days stretch on
endless
while your scent still tickles the back of my throat
there’s no evidence that anything will ever be ok again
but you rumble calm and soothing
even from a distance
you make me want to believe

sometimes I almost do

Leave a Reply

et cetera
