joannebest











{May 16, 2013}   Daily Prompt ~ Memories For Sale ~ No They Can’t Take That Away From Me

ramonesbobby1334854222177ramones wendy me cbgbs

I’ve been going through a lot of old stuff lately and there they were, a few bits of physical evidence of The Best Years Of My Life.
1977.
CBGBs.
The Ramones.
A guitar pic and 2 photographs of The Ramones playing at CBGBs and yes, I am in both photos, front and center. The first photo, super-young me in a white shirt sharing a chair with my first boyfriend Bobby (RIP) at my first-ever time at CBGBs and the last photo, taken a few months later at another Ramones show, still-young me front and center in my black leather jacket staring adoringly at what I thought of as just another local band I liked. The guitar pick used to have a lot of companions but they got lost in the shuffle over the years.
There is too much to say right now and my head is in the wrong place to do it justice so I’m taking the easy way out for the moment. Suffice it to say that I was there. Boy oh boy was I there!

I heard recently there is a movie coming out called CBGB, I’m curious to see how accurate it is. It’s going to be weird watching people I knew portrayed by actors who probably weren’t even born while all this went on; just the other day I saw some show about the last 24 hours in the life of Sid Vicious. It was kinda weird, knowing I’d been hanging out with most of them just 24 hours before his last 24 hours. Let’s just say at least they got the names right.

Now that I’ve babbled incoherently I’m looking forward to unscrambling my brain soon, I’ve got a lot of amazing memories from those days and I gotta be truthful, not a one of those memories would ever be for sale.
Those days are priceless.

Love your response to the prompt, Joanne.



Thanks Andra! I literally just found that guitar pic and it just seemed perfect



Leave a Reply

et cetera
