joannebest











{April 30, 2013}   What Lies Behind Me

it’s scattered, this brain of mine

not sure where to turn and tired of walking backward

’cause there’s nothing there for me anymore

I see you in the distance, almost close enough to touch if I’d just reach out my hands

but i’m afraid I might not reach you

I wonder which is worse, reaching and missing or just plain missing ’cause I never tried to reach

you push me toward the light just by raising the blinds and you shine so bright

my darkness follows me, clinging to what I know best

my eyes steal a glance behind me Orpheus-like

and I curse this scattered brain of mine

Leave a Reply

et cetera
